There’s a gag about a person who wants to find his way to a place called Hometown, and he thinks he knows the way and he is driving along, and then he realizes everything suddenly become unfamiliar. He realizes he’s lost; and he sees a pedestrian, so he pulls over, winds down his window and he says: “Excuse me, can you tell me the way to Hometown?”
And the pedestrian looks at him and says: “Well, I would start from here.”

Now, this little story illustrates something that’s quite significant about the spiritual life. I’m a religious teacher and just recently my activities have picked up. This makes a certain sense, you know, we’re in a middle of a big crisis. There’s the danger of a disease and there’s the economic problem, that comes with it. So suddenly everything has become uncertain. We thought we knew where we were going. We thought we were on the way to Hometown and we knew the route and suddenly everything has become unfamiliar. We can’t do what we used to do. And it’s just at a time like this that we suddenly decide to ask for help. In other words: we turn to the spiritual life. We realize that the materialist life - the consumerist life we’ve been living - maybe isn’t going to get us there. We thought it would but maybe it’s not.

So, at a time like this, many people do turn to spirituality one way or another, but, of course, there’s a very real sense in which I wouldn’t start from here! It’s not the time! If you want the benefit of spirituality, if you want the equanimity, the peace of heart, the freedom from worry and anxiety that spirituality will bring you, then you should have got it established well before the crisis came along. This is fairly logical.